Talk: Greg Kurtzer and R. Leigh Hennig from Rocky Linux, 28th April 2021

When:
28th April 2021 @ 19:30
2021-04-28T19:30:00+01:00
2021-04-28T19:45:00+01:00
Where:
Zoom
TBA
Cost:
Free
Contact:

On the evening of Wednesday 28th April 2021,  Rocky Linux founder and Executive Director Greg Kurtzer and Director of Operations R. Leigh Hennig will be talking about Rocky Linux.

After the news that CentOS 8 will be EOL this year and transition to a rolling release model, Greg Kurtzer, original founder of the CentOS project announced Rocky Linux, a free, community-run drop in replacement for CentOS and RHEL.

Within days, a community sprang up to build the project infrastructure and following a whirlwind few months, the first release candidate of Rocky Linux is expected by 30th April 2021 and an official release by mid-2021.

Greg and Leigh will be talking about the formation and status of Rocky Linux, answer questions that sysadmins might have about migrating a CentOS system to Rocky Linux and how users can contribute to the success of Rocky Linux.

The meeting will open as a social at 19:30 UK time (14:30 ET, 11:30 PT). The talk will be delivered via Zoom and start around 20:30 (15:30 ET, 12:30 PT). The meeting will revert to a social afterwards so feel free to stick around and chat with us after the talk.

It’s a big deal getting these guys to speak to us just as Rocky Linux is poised to be the big Linux story of the year. We’re really excited about this one, please join us.

You don’t need a Zoom account to join and you can watch the talk from the web without needing to install the client. The conference details are available from the Meetup link below but we will post the Zoom details here on the day of the conference.

Due to the popularity of this one, we’re asking people to sign up via Meetup.com:

Wolves LUG – Greg Kurtzer and R. Leigh Hennig from the Rocky Linux project

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2021, 2:30 PM

Online event
,

32 Luggers Attending

This meeting was set up by the Wolverhampton LUG. The meeting will open at 19:30 BST (14:30 EDT), the talk is expected to start around 20:30 (15:30 EDT). After the news that CentOS 8 will be EOL this year and transition to a rolling release model, Greg Kurtzer, original founder of the CentOS project announced Rocky Linux, a free, community-run drop…

Check out this Meetup →

If you really can’t sign up via Meetup.com, you can email talks@wolveslug.org.uk or just wait for the Zoom details to be posted here.

Bookmark the permalink.